Suicidal Thoughts

They always try to make out like it is this great thing when you have stopped trying to kill yourself. People say when was your last suicidal thought – a week ago, month ago – but all I think is everyday. Sure some days, it is not all that bad. If they really wanted to listen and know the truth, I would tell them even on good days, I think about killing myself. Yesterday, I stepped out into the road without even looking even though I was having a great day. Sometimes, I will light up a cigarette or starve myself. These may not look like suicide attempts to you. That is what it means though, to be suicidal. I cannot go a single day without hurting myself somehow. So although you think it might be great that I have not overdosed or slit my wrists or hung myself, you are seeing what you want to. I am not living as a person should. If you listened, you would know that I cannot escape it. You would know that I do not choose it. It is not this simple decision. It is this fight in which you either win or die trying.

One thought on “Suicidal Thoughts

  1. Damn…deep, interesting perspective. I’ve seriously stared down the end of a barrel, held it against my temple when my world literally fell apart…it was the worst days of my life. I only survived by crawling out of it. It took awhile to be able to stand up and limp away from it…literally. I’m still hobbling through life…one day at a time. Trudging through the struggles, surviving. Thanks for sharing…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

