Alive

Today, someone said to me for the first time in who knows how long, ‘you look happy’. Wow, I thought, you know what: I am happy. I am loved and so blessed. I do not know how long this is going to last. At least, for the moment that I am living in now, I am happy. So I will not worry about the future and I will live. I will keep ensuring that my heart is adventurously beating, just as I wish that everyone else’s is also. I will smile and be strong. I will handle and conquer whatever life has to throw at me. I know how unbelievably lucky I am. I know that I am alive.

“I want to feel all there is to feel, he thought. Let me feel tired, now, let me feel tired. I mustn’t forget, I’m alive, I know I’m alive, I mustn’t forget it tonight or tomorrow or the day after that.”

One thought on “Alive

Leave a Reply

