Survivor

The truth is: I do not know why. I do not know why I do the things that I do. I cannot explain why I feel how I do. I am terrified. Terrified of myself. When you live a life like this, a life with no vitality…simply survival, it becomes pathetic. I have to fight with myself every day and the conflict is simply exhausting. You come out on the other side, feeling even less than when you started.

I do not know why I do it. I thought that I maybe wanted attention, but then the shame is so great that you do not even tell anyone. You just sit silently judging yourself for a long time. Even when you snap of it, you do not understand. The worst part is that you just sort of block it out, pretend none of it happened so that you can move on, move forward. There is no forward, though, not really. Where do you go from here? From nobody knowing, from all the pretending to just pretend some more. I think it is the secrets that kill me.

I was naïve. I had this image in my head that they would diagnose me as mentally ill and my mother would finally see clearly. I envisaged her taking me into her arms and telling me it was all going to be alright. I thought that she would hold me until I slept and I would finally make it through the night. I would finally feel the love that I have been craving. I feel even less than before. She will never understand. She does not care about anyone else enough to see that I am hurting. All she says it that she failed. It is all about her, again. My pain, my hurting, it gets pushed aside. I crave her love so badly. I want to be taken care of. I have lost the strength to do this on my own.

You come out the other side though and everything is much worse. You are still alone. You cannot tell anyone. Now, you have a secret. It is dirty and dangerous. You are in danger. No one to hold you. No sleep. No feelings. Just danger. You know that if nothing changes, it will happen again. You will end up back in exactly the same place.

I cannot explain the urges. I cannot explain much. I am switched off, completely shutting down. That is all that I can be sure of. There will be no human left. I am afraid. Not afraid of death. Death seems easy. I am afraid of this life, with no vitality. I am afraid, because I have given up hope. I am no longer concerned with happiness. I just want to feel alive.

2 thoughts on “Survivor

  1. The fact of the matter that you are expressing yourself, in the way you put. Speaks volume of itself.

    It came a time, I went into depression, I was alone, came back from office closed the light and just lie on sofa and cry. It was 3 months of extreme depression.

    The way I come out is through meditation, to pray to God, and speak your heart out to Him.

    Ask him these are my issues, I don’t know the direction, show me the right direction and give me mentors.

    I am sure you will come out of this present scenario like I had.

    Like

  2. Plus don’t sit idle, occupy yourself in anything. Do volunteer work. I don’t know your background. But I do know, we are not meant to live in isolation. We are social being, otherwise we will be like trees and mountains, standing where they are.

    So do community service, anything that makes you occupied and no TV at all. It’s the number 1 depression source these days.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

