Hopes and Dreams

Am I on the right path? I look all around me and people have no idea what they want to do with the rest of their lives. I think I have always known. It has been in me and a part of me for so long now. What I want is essentially all that I am. However, I can become distracted and I wonder if this is because I have not truly found my calling yet. I do think that it is possible to do many things. I think it is possible and very likely that you will change your mind. My fifty year old stepdad said the wisest and most encouraging thing when we were talking about my future. He said to me, ‘I still do not know what I want to be when I grow up.’

I always think to myself, “Today is never too late to be brand new”. If you sense it or feel it, why not do it. Start today and just start. You do not have to be the best at whatever it is or succeed straight away, but why not give it a try. That is what this life is all about really. It is all a hit and miss and if you never try, then you never know.

My dreams come from such a long time ago. They come from a privileged young girl who developed empathy very young from the pain around me. This led me into a world of human rights and a passion to help those in disadvantaged circumstances. What I realise is that this dream was a young and naïve one. As it has developed into my vision, I see that it more intense than I could have possibly imagined and it can have so many forms.

I wish to help women, particularly those lacking power or education. I want everyone to be able to stand up for themselves and to help end violence and sexual abuse. I want to help children, those without parents and those with incapable parents. I want all the children of the world to know they are loved. I want to help those without sufficient food, water, shelter and medicine, who do not have their basic needs met. I grew up privileged. Even though I did not have love, I never had nothing. I want to make sure that people in the world are getting their needs met. I want to help anyone that suffers from mental health disorders, because it is not your fault. I feel a major compassion for those with circumstances outside their control, who continue to suffer.

These are all so extreme and such a vast range of hopes. I do my part as much as I can. Every year, I am volunteering and studying, with this in mind. It becomes hard not to get distracted. If I hear one touching story about a child or refugee or woman, I become extremely impacted. My focus shifts for a while to that particular field so I am constantly changing my mind. I am lucky to be studying a very broad degree and I love knowledge. I take in as much as I can and do what I can with this. At the moment, my degree is not my centre. I think in this field, studying never is. For me, it is about the action. The lives I can change, no matter how small the changes.

At the moment, I am focused on empathy. I wish more people could feel what I feel and see what I see. it makes you think differently and thought is beautiful. I know that I am allowed to be sad about me and my circumstances, but rather than dwelling on what I cannot change, I want to do for others. To me, this world feels like a balance or cycle and so far, the blessings – they have always come back to me. So I will continue to use my gifts and what I have been blessed with to do whatever I feel is right.I think that is all any of us can ask of ourselves.

I believe that the future will remain bright as long as I do.

Leave a Reply

